Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Why I Run by Danalisa C-G.

on July 30, 2016

Ok about me:  I’m 38. Married to my high school sweetheart for 16 years. We have three boys: Owen (9), Aidan (7), Ethan (6).  I’m originally a NJ girl but have moved 12 times since marrying my hubby.  We’ve lived in NJ, NY, WA, England, Ireland and now CA.  I love to travel, read, knit/crochet, sing and of course RUN!

Why do you run? I run for me. I run to clear my head. I run to quiet my crazy thoughts. I run to be fit. I run to feel strong. I run to challenge myself. I run for those who can’t. I run to be social. I run because I can. 

How long have you been a runner? I was always a team sport gal but I hated running. While living in Ireland I started trying to run as a way to get back my body in-between babies at a time in our life when we couldn’t afford a gym. It was easy to go out the door and pound the pavement than try to fit in other workouts. That was 9 years ago. 

Before you leave for a run you must have? My phone/apple watch, running belt, a piece of gum, sometimes headphones and usually my sunglasses.

Describe your relationship with running in one word? Necessary!

Best run ever? My first marathon in November 2015 was as perfect as they get. I loved every moment of it (well almost every minute). I was well prepared, uninjured and the Revel Races are well organized. I thought I would do it once and be done but I’m plotting my next one. 😉

If you could recommend any running related item to a new runner it would be? A good pair of shoes makes all the difference and is worth the money. 

When not going on a run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do? I’m obsessed with Body-pump class and go twice a week. I walk my dog every day. I used to swim regularly and I am hoping to get back into that again.

Worst injury and how you got over it? I have been lucky not to have any significant injuries only minor ailments.  But, I did really struggle with my stomach not feeling well after a long run and I spent a lot of time reading and learning about nutrition in order to fuel myself well and feel better after running. It’s an ongoing lesson that has made me love cooking and feel worlds better all the time.

What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to go for a run? I don’t lack motivation. I’m always ready to feel the burn but I struggle in the summer with getting the time while my kids are home from school. So we have to get creative and use the gym childcare or a playground loop.

When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting? That I have likely done longer than this before so just keep going. Also good tunes can really motivate me.

My favorite thing about running? The people I have met who challenge me and encourage me. Fellow runners are the best!

I felt most like a BadA$$ Mother Runner when? My husband and kids met me on the training course for my 19 and 20 mile training runs to replenish my water/snacks with signs of support. They were a great support and seeing my kids’ faces in awe of what I was working so hard to achieve was the best motivation.

Do you use a Garmin or have a favorite App to track your runs? I use Runtastic and I run with an apple watch.  I used to have a Garmin but once I went apple I’ve never looked back.

Favorite brand of running shoes? Brooks – Run Happy  and I just bought my first Hoka trail shoes.

Favorite races? Revel Race Series, Rock and Roll Dublin , Brazen, Presidio 10

Favorite running partner? In Ireland I was one of the founders of our running group for women, Sloggers to Joggers.  I made some of my best run friends in that group.  I’m only new to MRTT and the Bay Area but Anusha has been my right hand girl for running long on the weekends.  She makes me smile and I love her enthusiasm and positive spirit.

Do you have a running idol? Lots of other mothers inspire me but I’m not a sports fan who watched races or anything like that.

If you gave someone one piece of advice about running, what would it be? Run your own race. There are a lot of applications for that advice..let’s go for a run and we can discuss it =)

Running goals for 2016? To build more strength in the gym which will support me training for a second marathon in 2017.

What do you love about MRTT? The inspiration of other mammas. The instant connection with ladies from all walks of life over a common joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

