Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Why do I Run…by Kristy C.

on July 23, 2016

Hi! I’m Kristy C.  I joined MRTT a few years back but wasn’t very active at the time because somehow I got the impression I needed to be a super marathoner! Anyway, I re-joined the group a few months later and I am so glad I did.  I love the positivity in this group!  I wish I could meet up on more runs, but our crazy family schedule keeps me doing most of my running on my lunch break.  I work full time and I am a mom of two kiddos – A boy who is 8 and a girl who is 2.  I love it when they like to participate in my weight training and yoga stretches with me.

Thanks to the motivation of this group, I did my first half last September, with my husband by my side.  It was very cool and I was so proud of us.  I hope to run Disney with the hubs in the next couple years.

It’s been great to meet so many of you!  Thanks for all the virtual hi-fives and advice you have given me along the way!

Why do you run? To relieve stress and feel good about myself!

How long have you been a runner? On and off for years.  I did track as a kid and the treadmill as a kid, then I tried so many things such as elliptical, yoga, pilates, Jazzercise, cardio-kick boxing, weights, team sports.  I went back to running as my main gig around 2002-2008.  Then I did elliptical and weights as my main gig for a few years and went back to running around 2013.

Before you leave for a run you must have? Music!

Describe your relationship with running in one word? Friend

Best run ever? 408k with my husband was lots of fun.  We had a great time!

If you could recommend any running related item to a new runner it would be?  A fun playlist!

When not going on a run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do? Elliptical, weights, yoga and stretching.

Worst injury and how you got over it? Some hip pain – rest.  Had a hip flexor strain – did lots of stretching…Had some plantar fasciitis – taped and did lots of foot massage.

What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to go for a run? To feel  good about me.

When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting? Knowing I will feel better if I do.

My favorite thing about running? I get to clear my head and have time to think things through…

I felt most like a BadA$$ Mother Runner when? I finished SJ Rock n Roll Half, difficult, challenging, and rewarding all at the same time.

Do you use a Garmin or have a favorite App to track your runs? Fitbit

Favorite brand of running shoes? Asics

Favorite races? SIB, 408k, GOTR

Favorite running partner? Husband, but I am usually alone for schedule reasons.

Do you have a running idol? Senior citizens who are running – so freakin’ badass!

If you gave someone one piece of advice about running, what would it be? Have fun! All miles are miles…

Running goals for 2016? Keep on keeping on…maybe get a little faster….

What do you love about MRTT? All the positivity!

Kristy MRTT

 

Leave a Reply

