Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

MRTT Running Survey featuring Julie S.

on July 10, 2016

I decided I would kick this off by completing the questionnaire myself. I joined the San Jose MRTT group several years ago. One of my first interactions with MRTT was meeting up with Irma Do to pick up some MRTT shirts for the Disneyland Tinkerbell ½ Marathon and deliver them to some of the moms running the race. I very much enjoy staying connected to running through the San Jose MRTT group.

  1. Why do you run? I run for stress relief. Getting out and pounding the pavement helps me process all the crazy stuff going on in my head.
  2. How long have you been a runner? On and off since middle school. I ran the mile and 2 mile for track. Over the years I would always go back to running as my go to exercise. Pushed my girls around in the jogger stroller when they were little and then dragged them along with me in short 5Ks as they got old enough to participate. I love that we still run races as a family now that they are grown up.
  3. Before you leave for a run you must have? I really hate to admit this but I need to have my IPhone and headset because I must have my tunes and my Nike app to track my miles.
  4. Describe your relationship with running in one word? Empowering, because even the not so good runs leave me feeling stronger than before.
  5. Best run ever? My first marathon. It was the Silicon Valley marathon and it was my slowest marathon but that feeling of completing it still warms my heart. I started crying when I hit mile 25 because I knew run, walk, or crawl that I was going to do it. My husband, my daughters, and my best friend Stacie all were there to support me and celebrate with me.
  6. If you could recommend any running related item to a new runner it would be? The importance of getting good shoes to run in and trying different brands and styles until you find what works for you. I love Asics and have run in them since the 80’s.
  7. When not going on a run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do? Honestly I must admit I am not much of a cross trainer. I like power walking but that is a lot like running. I know going to the gym and incorporating other types of exercise is important and helps aid in avoiding injury. Once I am released to return to exercise I am hoping to commit to at least 2 days of cross training at the gym that I pay for but rarely use.
  8. Worst injury and how you got over it? On January 5, 2015 I slipped and fell down some concrete steps at work resulting in breaking my right hip, bruising ribs/kidney, hairline pelvic fracture, injuring my back, mild concussion and whiplash. I spent 6 weeks using a walker to limit weight bearing for my hip/pelvic fractures to heal and 2 more weeks using a cane. I spent the last year recovering, doing physical therapy, chiropractor, and acupuncture to help aid in getting back to where I was prior to the accident. I did a lot of walking but was not really able to get to a strong enough point to incorporate much jogging due to continued issues with my back. So I decided to have a micro-discectomy to repair the L4/L5 herniated disc on January 7, 2016 of this year. The surgery went well but unfortunately I suffered a Cerebral Spinal Fluid leak that caused me to have headache, nausea, vomiting and dizziness upon standing. I went back into the hospital and ended up having a blood patch to repair the CSF leak. The blood patch was successful but within 2 days of being back home from the hospital I started having intense pain and numbness in my right leg and foot. I went back into the ER to find out that I had re-herniated the disc. I am not sure how that happened basically on bedrest but the surgeon said the new herniation was worse than the original so I had a second discectomy in February to repair the disc, followed by another CSF leak resulting in a 3rd surgery in March to seal the leak. Thought I was finally on the mend but suffered yet another herniated disk resulting in a spinal fusion in April.  I was checked in and out of the hospital 6 times for a total of 30 days, 4 surgeries and 1 procedure which was not what I was expecting when I decided to go ahead with the back surgery but the issues I had are all possible risks of the surgery. I am happy to say that I am home and on the mend and working at getting back to where I was before the fall. I am on my way to recovery!
  9. What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to go for a run? Since I have been recovering the last year my big motivation has just been to get out there and at least walk as part of my recovery and to do my daily PT exercises because I really miss running. Before my accident I would say my biggest motivator was to clear my head.
  10. When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting? I usually utilize self-talk a lot when I am on long runs. I have a little mantra I repeat to myself if needed; “I feel great, I feel strong, I could run all day long”.
  11. Favorite thing about running? It’s my me-time and it makes me feel good. I love the energy I feel at races and when I complete running goals that I have set.
  12. I felt most like a BadA$$ Mother Runner when? In 2014, my husband I set on a quest to complete 14 races and log over 1400 miles for the year. I logged 1402.1 miles on my Nike + app and completed 1 Marathon (PR), 5 Half Marathons, 1- ½ marathon relay, 5-10ks and 2 – 5ks. I felt very accomplished that year – BOOM!
  13. Do you use a Garmin or have a favorite App to track your runs? I use the Nike + app.
  14. Favorite running partner? In the past I would say that I was more of a solo runner but over the past few years I have found that I do enjoy running with a partner. My husband, my daughter, fellow MRTT mom Melodie Cameron, my best friend Christie or anyone I can get to join me.
  15. Favorite races? I really like the Rock-n-Roll series, Brazen Racing and Disneyland races. Although I feel that Disney has gotten quite expensive and crowded not to mention the crazy early start times.
  16. Quirky habit while running? I like to carry chapstick and Kleenex just in case I need it. I don’t feel complete if I do not have them packed with a snack for long runs or race day. I must admit I am kind of addicted to chapstick 🙂
  17. Do you have a running idol? When I was 16,  Joan Benoit Samuelson won the Gold medal in the Olympic Women’s marathon. It made such an impression on me as a runner. I still remember how awesome it was to watch her take the victory lap with the American Flag. She is the ultimate mother runner for me.
  18. If you gave someone one piece of advice about running, what would it be? Don’t over think it. Just do it! Try not to worry too much about pace or technique. Life is complicated enough so just enjoy the feel of the run.
  19. Running goals for 2016? I am just taking it a day at a time right now during my recovery so I do not have any official goals for 2016. I am happy to say that I am walking now without walker or a cane and working on my goal of walking 30 minutes (currently at 15 to 20)!
Leave a Reply

