Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Little Baby Fast Steps Going Up the Hill

on May 4, 2014

This was my mantra at the 2014 Big Sur International Marathon this past weekend.  “Little baby fast steps going up the hill”….say it with a steady cadence and it can get you up those big hills on Highway 1 with pretty decent form.  This was a FUN race! Yes, I said FUN because when you get 40-some mother runners together at 3 AM on a Sunday morning to run 26.2, 21 or the various distances of the relay…well, you get delirious, giddy FUN!!  Add in the beautiful views that you can only see from running on the “ragged edge” and what you have is a definite “bucket list” race that is challenging and oh-so-satisfying at the end.

IMG_2741 IMG_2737

 

I signed up for this race because I was awake and on Facebook when registration opened.  It had only opened for 5 minutes and I get my first message from one of the moms from our San Jose Moms RUN thi town group. “Hey, are you going to sign up? It’s going to sell out soon!”  Conversation went back and forth: relay vs. 21-miler vs marathon, haven’t done that mileage before, girls weekend or bring the family, are the hills big or really, really, really big?

IMG_2731 IMG_2729 IMG_2725

In the end, I went for the 21-miler and thought I would use it as a gauge to see who well I would do for my September marathon.  I didn’t do too badly for my first over half-marathon length run.  One of the moms who I was running the 21-miler with injured her leg at the race so I did mostly run/walk with her…well, it was more like a run/walk/sing/dance/yoga/chant mantras/take pictures kind of race.  Anything to keep our legs moving for those 21 miles! We ended up getting separated towards the end and that was hardest part of the race for me.  Running sola after having 17 miles of conversation and fun…well, it just wasn’t the same.  I did catch up with another MRTT member who was running with her husband and that kept me going until the last mile when they decided to sprint to the end while I kept to my steady plod.

The finish was incredible though! 21 miles RUN and DONE!!

big sur IM button

Leave a Reply

