Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Commitment, Consistency…Comfort

on February 8, 2013

When I first thought about a blog post for the letter C (which of course comes after A and B), I was totally going to write about the importance of commitment and consistency when running. But as I sit here and actually try to write, the one word that comes up in my head when I’ve thought about running recently is COMFORT.

Odd, isn’t it?

What is so comforting about running?

For me, it’s the rhythm of my feet hitting the ground – like a steady heartbeat.  There are no surprises with running – it’s one foot in front of the other – right-left, right-left, repeat until done.  No matter the distance, the pace, the weather, alone or with friends, on the pavement or a dirt trail – running is the same no matter where you are, no matter who you are, no matter where you are in your life.  Once you decide to run, the steps are the same – put on your shoes, put one foot in front of the other, repeat.

This is me running.

This is me running.

This is Paula Radcliffe running (picture courtesy of PaulaRadcliffe.com)

This is Paula Radcliffe running (picture courtesy of PaulaRadcliffe.com)

Check out these pictures of me and Paula Radcliffe.

See how we run exactly the same?

I mean, just the feet part…

you can ignore everything else.

And by that, I mean,

Don’t look at anything else!!

But the feet – see how they’re exactly the same?

And we’re both moms!!

Comforting, don’t you think?

 

 

After we moved to CA, I knew I had to get back into running as soon as possible – running was something familiar that I could do in surroundings that were not familiar.  You might say my running shoes were my “transitional objects”.

Like a teddy bear, only stinkier...

Like a teddy bear, only stinkier…

How does running comfort you? Or does it?

 

 

 

6 responses to “Commitment, Consistency…Comfort

  1. Cindie says:

    Seriously, I don’t find comfort in running.
    I love the girlfriend time, and the feeling of accomplishment, but I don’t associate comfort and running…yet. :p
    I’m working on commitment and consistency. Our MRTT group helps!

    • sanjosemrtt says:

      Hey Cindie – I know what you mean. It took a while for me to find that comfort in running – it’s the familiarity that makes it comforting for me and the stress relief it brings. But it’s the fun of connecting with friends or doing a race that makes running worthwhile! Like today! =)

  2. rachelandjeremy says:

    I think this is my favorite post so far! Love it! Running is definitely a de-stresser for me.

  3. Actually, even your feet aren’t the same. You are a heel striker, and she is a midfoot striker. She definitely has a much more natural (and a lot less abusive) stride because of it.

    • sanjosemrtt says:

      Oh – you are an observant one! =) Yes, you are correct – Paula Radcliffe has much better form than I do. Of course, she is a world class athlete with numerous medals under her belt while I am a middle of the pack, recreational runner. Still, the basics of running – i.e. putting one foot in front of the other – are the same for both of us (which is what I meant in the post). Before she runs, Ms. Radcliffe puts on one shoe at a time, just like the rest of us – isn’t comforting to know that we all have one thing in common with a world class athlete?

Leave a Reply

