Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Daylight Savings Time

on November 5, 2012

Today we turn our clocks back and gain an extra hour.  What did you do with that extra hour?

As a mom and runner – there are SO many things that I could have done with that extra hour.

  • I could have run 5 easy miles.
  • I could have cleaned my bathrooms and done a load of laundry.
  • I could sorted through some of my kids’ clothes and gotten at least three bags to give away to charity.
  • I could have baked cookies.
  • I could have done some a half hour of strength training and a half hour of yoga.
  • I could have called/emailed some friends who I haven’t connected with in a while.
  • I could have played tea party bowling with my kids.

The list could go on and on! Did I do any of those things? NOPE! I slept in!

That’s not really a picture of me sleeping. If it was, there would be drool and much messier hair!

Now, I could feel guilty about this, but I’ve had somewhat of a difficult month between having visitors for practically all of October, being sick AND doing the Rock n Roll half marathon and the Warrior Dash.

For some people, that might not be a lot.  And after the devastation that Hurricane Sandy left on the East Coast, I know that in the grand scheme of things, this month is really not a hardship compared to having no electricity or being flooded out of my home.  But for me,  this was a particularly exhausting month.

So I rested and regrouped and like the clocks today – I reset.

 

 

3 responses to “Daylight Savings Time

  1. Mr. Antonn says:

    Always great to get rest! You’ve been so busy with all of your events you definitely deserve a break. I finally ran for the first time since my race in July. it was weird but felt great afterwards. My lungs felt heavy in the first time in years! But it went away and I liked the runners pain haha

    Great post 😉

    • sanjosemrtt says:

      Thanks Mr. A! Glad you’re back to running too! It is a great feeling to be back out there! What’s your next race?

      • Mr. Antonn says:

        Hopefully I get to go to LA the weekend after New Years for the New Years Night Run in downtown on Jan 5th. I haven’t been training hard core just light runs not killing myself, but if I can get to 10 miles in 2 weeks I’ll sign up for it. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

