Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Back on the Wagon

on October 2, 2012

Well today I say sweet things
But tomorrow
I’ll be making up excuses
For my actions cause it’s been so long

Well I got no real excuse
I’m on the wagon again

On the Wagon by Green Day

 

Not one of my favorite Green Day songs, but I thought appropriate since it has been a long time since my last post.  We went away to visit family for a while and during that time, I did the following:

1) Eat

2) Sleep

3) Watch TV

Notice “running” did not make this “Top 3 list” (it was cold and rainy where we were).

Neither did “watching/playing with kids” since the kid to adult ratio was 1:5 (and the kids loved playing with their aunties and uncles and cousins more than boring old mom and dad).

And neither did “blogging” (the “one step above dial up” computer system just wasn’t conducive to any prolonged computer time).

It was a great to take a break from our usual routines, however getting back into the swing of things has been difficult. Especially getting back into running!  Today, I did 5 miles, and yes, it was ridiculously hot, but still, I felt like I was starting all over again with my training.

Did I mention the San Jose Rock n Roll Half Marathon that I signed up for is THIS SUNDAY!!

They have a “sag wagon” for those people who are unable to finish the race in the allotted time.  Where I come from, they call it the “loosah cruisah” (or “loser cruiser”  for those who don’t speak Bahstan).

I really had no excuse for not continuing my training while we were away.  I could have run in the rain. I could have put down that 50th egg roll.  So, now, I have to get my mind around the fact that 1 week of sloth and gluttony does not mean that the past 6 months of training has gone down the drain. I have this week to get my head back in the game.

I will get back on that running wagon and stay off the loosah cruisah.

7 responses to “Back on the Wagon

  1. Cindie says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself, my friend. You are going to do great this weekend. You went away for a bit, and enjoyed yourself. You deserve a break. I didn’t go anywhere, and averaged once/week runs in the past few weeks. You ran in this horrific heat today; no Loosah Cruisah for you, sistah. You’re gonna Rock’nRoll! 😉

    • sanjosemrtt says:

      Yeah, but your once a week runs are like 15 miles!!! And you’re built like a Giselle, I mean, gazelle, no, maybe I did mean, Giselle! =) Thanks for the vote of confidence. I am going to focus on having fun and staying with the pacer. I think my mantra will be “No Loosah Cruisah! No Loosah Cruisah!”

  2. Mr. Antonn says:

    Ah it’s okay sometimes breaks like that are good for you even if you don’t think so right away. You got this Irma good luck this weekend!

Leave a Reply

