Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Now I Know my ABCs, won’t you come and RUN with me?!

on September 5, 2012

One of the other MRTT Chapter Leaders, Amber of Tales of an Unfit Mommy introduced me to the idea of an A-Z “blogging challenge” which was the original brain-child of these cool bloggers. Amber also tagged me for a Leibster Award!  Read on to find out more about me and the Moms RUN San Jose A to Z Blogging Challenge!

The A-Z Blogging Challenge was unofficially started last week with our “Admitting Awesomeness” post.  Our next installment is currently entitled, “Becoming Brave”.  Look for it this week!

The Liebster Award is given to upcoming bloggers who have less than 200 followers (that’s definitely me!).  I also want to take the time to give a shout out to my first follower, L-Jay Health.  Thanks so much for the warm welcome into the blogging community! I think your blog is pretty cool too (but I couldn’t nominate you for this because you have like, a gazillion followers)!

The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing and welcome (that’s definitely me too!!)
Rules for receiving this award:
1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
2. Then answer the questions the tagger sent for them, plus create 11 questions for the people they’ve tagged to answer.
3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4. Notify the people you have tagged.
5. No tag backs.
11 Things about me – running related:
1) In high school, I was the last one to complete the mile run for gym.  I think I came in at 19 minutes (it had to be under 20 min to pass).  I collapsed in a heap when I was done.
2) My first race with the Race for the Cure 5K in Pittsburgh, PA the summer after I graduated college.
3) I have running shirts from races I’ve never run because I “borrowed” them from some guy friends in college.
4) I have usually run with my hair in two pig tails.  But after joining MRTT and getting my 1st bondi band, that is all I wear to keep the hair (and sweat) out of my eyes.
5) I sweat buckets when I run, except for my feet which remain dry like the desert.
6) I used to think my MotoActv was the coolest thing EVER – until it stopped tracking my pace this last week.  What’s up with that?
7) My current playlist for runs include 80s hair bands, 80s boy bands, Belinda Carlisle and Michael Jackson.
8) I usually run in capris or running skirts.  I only wear shorts if everything else is in the wash.
9) I wear an iPod Nano and my MotoActv when I run.  I’d bring my phone too and use Mapmyrun or Runkeeper if I had a place to put it.  I like to REALLY be accurate with my miles and pace.
10) I miss running with my double jogging stroller…not because I miss pushing it, but because I miss running with my girls who just started school.
11) I am going to run a marathon in the next year or two.
11 Questions for me to answer from Tales of an Unfit Mommy:

1. What’s the longest distance you’ve ever run?  13.1 miles
2. What is your favorite food? Currently – It is cookie butter and pretzels.  Just finished up a jar tonight. YUM!!
3. White, milk, or dark chocolate? Dark, very dark.
4. If you were a flavor of Ben & Jerry’s, what would you be? Chunky Monkey comes to mind, although my favorite is Phish Food.
5. What’s your favorite vacation place? Playa Del Carmen, Mexico or the Cayman Islands.
6. What’s your favorite room in your house?  Bathroom.  If you’re a mom, you know why!
7. What’s your cooking specialty? (the recipe you make the best or others request from you) Broccoli Ramen Slaw.  It doesn’t require cooking – that’s why it’s so good!
8. What’s something on your bucket list? Running a marathon!
9.  What’s your favorite outdoor activity? Reading or journaling – yes, you can do them outdoors!
10. What’s the last movie you watched? The Avengers – very good!
11.  Suggest a song for my workout playlist. Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves.  You can run faster on sunshine!!
11 Question from Moms RUN San Jose:
1) What was your favorite cartoon growing up?
2) If you could be any superhero, who would you be and why?
3) If you run or workout, what is your mantra?  If you don’t – what words/phrase do you say to yourself to keep yourself going?
4) Toilet paper – over or under?
5) Weather that is sunny, 70 degrees with a slight breeze – cold or hot?
6) Favorite book?
7) Favorite shoes?
8) Favorite activity to do with your family?
9) Moment in your life that made you go, “HUH?”
10) If they made your life into a movie (or TV show) – who would get to play YOU?
11) If you can do anything for 24 hours straight, without any interruptions – what would you do?
And the winner is:
Laura started this whole Awesomeness Agenda and it is only fair she receive the 1st award!
So, yes, there’s at least 10 more bloggers I can nominate – will it be you?
Ooooo – it’s a cliffhanger!!  Stay tuned…..
One response to “Now I Know my ABCs, won’t you come and RUN with me?!

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for thinking of me! When you asked me if I wanted this award I forgot that I had already gotten it a little while back. I remember the 11 things concept, but I think I forgot the actual name of the award. Anyway, I’ll write something in response, but maybe put a little twist on it so I’m not repeating a post. Thanks again!!!

Leave a Reply

