Moms RUN San Jose

For Moms who run, by Moms who run…Moms RUN this Town!

Admitting Awesomeness – More thoughts….

on August 29, 2012

Yesterday, I  reblogged a post from Laura at “I’d Rather Sit on the Couch”.  I thought about it again today as I was running with two other moms.  We were going to do 4-5 miles due to time constraints and were discussing the pros/cons of the Bingham/Galloway/Higdon running methods.  When I started running, I didn’t know about the benefits of “run-walk-run” or running negative splits, so I have always followed the “run until you have to walk” running method.  The problem with this method (and I know this from experience) is that I have often arrived at the race finish exhausted and not meeting my time goal due to running the 1st half of a race too fast and/or running until I was really needing to walk, then finding it difficult to start running again.  But it has been difficult for me to think about transitioning to running the Bingham/Galloway/Higdon way (even though I know it would probably be a better way to run).

Why?

Well, it all goes back to admitting my own awesomeness.

Now, I like to think that I am a humble person for the most part – I know my strengths and weaknesses and am confident in my abilities as a runner, mom, wife, social worker, friend.  Even if I do something better than another person, I don’t rub it in their face (unless it’s my hubby, then I mention it every hour on the hour for the next week or so that I was better than him at whatever it was).

But after putting in weeks of training, on the day of a race, I want to run fast and I want to run hard because I feel and know that, at that moment in time, after the national anthem is sung, the gun goes off and my feet start moving – I know, that I am AWESOME.

  • Awesome for putting in months of training, running 3-4 times per week when I could have used those hours to get my nails done or read a book.
  • Awesome for doing some of those runs pushing a jogging stroller when I could have just gone to the playground and pushed my kids on the swing.
  • Awesome for getting up when it’s still dark to go for an early morning run when I could have continued snuggling with my hubby under the warm covers.
  • Awesome for leaving the house after the kids are sleeping to go to the gym for some cross-training when I could have sat on the couch and had ice cream.
  • Awesome for thinking that running 13.1 miles is “do-able” even though that is the mileage from the Nashua, NH border to the Tewksbury, MA exit going down Route 3 then 495.
  • Awesome (and blessed) for having a family who understands my need to run to feel good physically,mentally and emotionally.

As I whiz by people at the start of the race, I imagine that they see me pass them and think, “Man, check out that runner – she is AWESOME!”   I just hope they don’t recognize me as the walker, wheezing as if I have sports asthma (I don’t) and talking to myself (positive self-talk helps, therapists say), that they pass at mile 6 or 7.  But even if they do, so what?

I am a mom.  I trained for a race. I am running the race. I am AWESOME!

4 responses to “Admitting Awesomeness – More thoughts….

  1. Laura says:

    You are AWESOME!!! And you painted the picture of all the sacrifices you have to make to run long distances so well! It’s your race – you run it however you want! Also note that everyone slows down at mile 6 or 7. 😉

  2. atsuko says:

    If I were a better runner I’d probably feel the same as you. When I’m at the start of a race I usually have some modest time goal in mind but also I just don’t want to be the last to cross the finish line. The run/walk method also helps me when I’m struggling – then I’m just listening for the beep on my watch to tell me when to go and when I can take a break.

    Anyways, you ARE awesome! I’ve made a lot of excuses the last few years, but now that I’m kid-free three mornings a week I really have no excuse.

  3. […] I first thought about a blog post for the letter C (which of course comes after A and B), I was totally going to write about the importance of commitment and consistency when […]

Leave a Reply

